The Gwandeokjeong’s horn bow archery, which makes the mind and body healthy at the same time, was essential requirements for not only military servants but also civil servants. These bows have completely lost their survival or defense functions these days, and continue their sport and hobbies. In Gwangju, also there is a place where sports and hobbies connect with bows, and that is a archery field, the Gwqndeokjeong. In the old days, bows were very diverse depending on the material and the usage of the bow, but nowadays only the horn bow remains and maintains its prestige.
The current Gwandeokjeong building was built around October 1963, and its original completion dates back 300 years. At that time, the Gwangsan Lees family built the Sajung in the northeastern region and named it Heekyungdang. This place, where archers visited frequently, was later moved near the post office at Chungjang-ro, but it disappeared as government offices were built. In 1920, Mr. Lim Byung-ryong built the DaeHwanJeong(a pavilion) with his own money on the riverside of Gudong river. When it was closed in 1927, the employees raised funds, and established the Sajung in Gu-dong near the current senior community center at the Gwangju Park, and then changed the name to the Gwandeok-jeong again. .
How about dropping in the Gwandeokjeong and having a unique experience through the ‘Bow’?